… And You’re Surprised??

4 Therefore, since Christ suffered in his body, arm yourselves also with the same attitude, because whoever suffers in the body is done with sin. As a result, they do not live the rest of their earthly lives for evil human desires, but rather for the will of God. For you have spent enough time in the past doing what pagans choose to do—living in debauchery, lust, drunkenness, orgies, carousing and detestable idolatry. They are surprised that you do not join them in their reckless, wild living, and they heap abuse on you (1Peter 4:1-4)

 

I was watching CNN this morning and one video in particular continues to grab my attention. It is a video of a young man. A 34-year-old to be exact that is still a virgin and is holding himself until he gets married. Which I myself find to be a beautiful as well as a wise decision.

He explains to Dr. Drew that, he is holding himself because that is what his “religion” requires of him and not only that but it is something he decided to uphold. 

This young man, made a conscious decision to maintain his purity and stand for holiness.

What really grabbed my attention is that they made it into some really big ordeal … enough so that they felt the need to interview this man.

I watched over and over and over again and said to myself 

“Should holiness really draw this much attention?”

“Is holiness really out of the norm for us as a people”

then I said to myself ..

“Wow, that is really sad!”

(and yes, I do this much talking to myself)

What saddens me and at the same time baffles me, is that holiness really is “that rare” .

We have books and articles on:

How to be beautiful.

How to get a man.

How to make him want you.

How to keep him after you made him want you.

How to be sure he really likes you.

(after you have jumped through hurdles 1-4 now we ask are we sure he likes us … go figure)

How to know if your spouse is cheating.

How to impress people.

How to gain the respect of others.

How to do this

and How to do that.

Please do not get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with a good “How to” book.

But can anyone teach us how to live Holy?

I jus found this verse a few weeks ago and it totally blew me away.

   Ezekiel 44:23

23 They are to teach my people the difference between the holy and the common and show them how to distinguish between the unclean and the clean.

They are to teach us what?!

The difference between holy and the common and show them how to distinguish between the unclean and the clean.

So where is the “How to” on holiness?

We as a people, as a royal nation.

We as a people God has set apart and required us to be holy as he is holy, needs to begin to teach and show this generation what it is to truly be holy and to distinguish the clean from unclean.

You want to know how to get the man, make him want you, come back for more can not get a way from you, have  him seeking after God because he needs to know how to navigate his way into your heart and life and because he knows and understands fully the scripture

“He that FINDS a wife finds a good thing”

You want to know how to attract a REAL Man of God …

LIVE HOLY!!

I don’t have to flaunt my body to get you to like me or be impressed, I do not have to lie to myself and others around me about who I really am.

I can be me … I can be holy!

We (both men and women) need to be that example.

We have to set a standard to and for those who really want to walk upright, who really want the things of God, we need to be that example to those who don’t see what they want to become.

We need to teach people that holiness pays!

We need to teaching them that serving God pays.

God would never ask us to be something that we could not achieve. Through His grace and Mercy through the blood of Jesus we have been made new, we are holy.

And ye shall be holy unto me: for I the LORD am holy, and have severed you from other people, that ye should be mine.” (Leviticus 20:26)

He said be Holy for I am Holy.

Being holy is being sanctified …. separated from sin.

A willful and conscious decision and act to keep ourselves pure. The willful act not to entangle ourselves in sin and abstain sinful things.

We must continue to gird ourselves with the word of truth. Set our hopes according to the grace given us and think soberly of ourselves.

Remember it is not in tedious, traditional things that make you holy … but through God and the conscious decision we make in our hearts to serve, follow and obey Him.

“My life in Christ is not one of religion but of relationship”

Keep it cute and most importantly

Keep it Holy!

God Bless 

Happy Blogging  

About strader612

I am 28 years old and from Virginia. I am the proud wife of the most wonderful man together we have three of the most annointed and highly intelligent and comical children. I am a wife, a mother, a daughter, a dancer, a fighter, a visionary, and passionate but most importantly I am child of God. View all posts by strader612

5 responses to “… And You’re Surprised??

Speak up ...

