Be Angry and sin not?

Anger is an energy. Focus it.

Anger is the birthplace for ideas, changes and innovative strategies. Anger is simply passion needing an instruction.

“Be ye angry and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath: neither give place to the devil” Ephesians 4:26-27

 

I received this from Dr. Mike Murdock’s ministry a few weeks ago (I think) and I just read it today. God’s timing is perfect because I can say it meant more to me today then it probably would have a few days or weeks earlier.

This hit home for me because I have the potential spend a lot of time angry. Even if it is only a few minutes here and there: sometimes sporadically through out my day I find myself irritated, agitated and/or angry. It has slowly been revealed to me that not everything is always what it seems.

The weapons of our warfare are not carnal … so when I think my anger may  be with my kids, my husband, a co-worker, brother or sister … if I “slow down” I can give myself time to see that the anger did not originate with them.

Be angry and Sin not??

 “Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the laps of fools” Ecclesiates 7:9

“God, if you are reading this … I do not want to be a fool”

… and every time I get angry I may not know exactly the root but I can take hope and know that I can come to God and cast all my cares on Him because He cares for me. I can also know that his word sheds light on all dark places and the work He has begun in me He will complete until the return of His Son.

 “Anger is passion needing instruction”

A few nights ago I found myself angered over priorities that were simply mis-handled and mis-prioritized (if that is not a word …. it is now). So, instead of me blowing my top and ranting and raving and letting everyone “have it”. I prayed.

Crazy thing was … was that I was going to do my “Get ’em God” prayer as if I did no wrong. And even though I did not … I prayed that God would show me how I can within myself begin the change that is needed. What can I do in my personal life that would reflect what should be done. I saw there was no “order” so then I must implement the order and let everything else fall into place or simply remove itself.

If you want change, it must begin with you. Especially if you are the first to notice the change must take place.

It requires a humbling of yourself which is sometimes extremely hard .. and more so when you KNOW you are not wrong.

But I must admit it does work. I regained some of the order I felt was lost and no one got hurt.  The worst thing to me is when I have completely jumped off the deep end and over reacted to a situation, that really all it required from me was to sit back, calm down and think. One thought can spare me and the other person embarrassment and regret.

” My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires”

James 1:19-20

 

About strader612

I am 28 years old and from Virginia. I am the proud wife of the most wonderful man together we have three of the most annointed and highly intelligent and comical children. I am a wife, a mother, a daughter, a dancer, a fighter, a visionary, and passionate but most importantly I am child of God. View all posts by strader612

4 responses to “Be Angry and sin not?

  • Naphtali

    Dr. Mike Murdock is a wealth of wisdom. I read and use his books especially The Assignment regularly. That book changed my life.

    • strader612

      Oh yea, I love Dr. Murdock. I dont personally own any of his book but my Pastor does .. and every now and then he will pass out some for a good read! I follow him on twitter and some how found myself on his website so I get a lot of emails which bless my socks off!
      I’ll have to look into the assignment!

  • mumlawyerlettered2themax

    Thanks, I really enjoyed this piece. I used to regurgitate the quotes about being angry and not sinning and then I got a chance to use it. Haha.. You know how God is. He gives us opportunities to lean into his word. 🙂

    I thank God for the Holy Spirit. After failing at loving those who are hard to love :), not showing enough forgiveness towards some other folks, and then ignorantly refocusing-all by my own might and failing at being Christ like in it all, I submitted to the Holy Spirit and he still helps me to deal with anger, pain, frustration etc etc.

    The Holy Spirit gives me real ability and not my so called “analytical might” 🙂 When God is in the circumstance (through prayer and calling on him), things change! These experiences with God and taking charge of anger and other emotions in the way God intended have changed who I have become. I am changed to the depths of my soul by the ways God has always shown up to direct me out of vitriolic acts and thoughts that did/do nothing for me as his child.

    Wow, I have experienced so many miraculous things in my life regarding life including these emotions that it always amazes me when people ask if God my reality. He is my everything. I am humbled that he hears me despite my utter mere humanity. I fail and he always uplifts. I am angry and he calms me, refocuses and uses me in a way that edifies my life and the lives of others too.

    I am humbled by his grace.

    Blessings to you and yours always.

  • strader612

    Thanks Hun … I am glad you enjoyed it!
    Yea … I am the first one to holler BE ANGRY AND SIN NOT!! Then turn around and act like a nut … and I hate that and it gets super old real fast. I cannot be only a reader but a doer. If I do not do what the word says then do I really trust God and His word?!

    But God’s grace is sufficient and for this I am more than grateful! Lord knows I need that and His mercies! LOL

    Stay encouraged and Seeking His face … take hope in knowing that the work he has begun in you he will complete! He is faithful and will do it!

    God Bless!!!

Speak up ...

